provence-g9eb015fec_1920.jpg

AVIGNON

AVIGNON 

(44 minutes from Salon de Provence) 

  

A UNESCO World Heritage Site, the city of Avignon is known for having hosted the popes between 1309 and 1423, alongside the Roman popes. It changed its face during the 18th century with more modern developments and the disappearance of many narrow medieval streets. Today, Avignon is best known for its architectural heritage, as well as for its cultural influence throughout the world. 

The town is one of the few French cities to have preserved its ramparts and its historic centre, which attract many tourists every year. 

Palace of the Popes  

avignon-gbbca5b769_1920.jpg
 

Located in the centre of Avignon on the Rocher des Doms, the Palais des Papes is the largest building of its time. It was the scene of 6 conclaves between 1335 and 1394. 

  

Thanks to the technology of virtual reality, you can visit the palace and its history through high quality reconstructions. You will be immersed in the atmosphere of the past, a journey back to the Middle Ages.   

The exit will be to the Rocher des Doms park. The park is very pleasant to walk around in, with its shade and flowers, especially in the summer when it is hot, as there is always some fresh air. There are facilities for children, pretty duck ponds and a refreshment bar. 

The monument also offers visitors regular cultural events throughout the year. The Festival d'Avignon takes place in July in the Cour d'Honneur of the Palais. A majestic and imposing place, the Palais des Papes is one of the 10 most visited monuments in France. 

  

Opening hours: From 19/05 to 31/12/2021, every day from 10am to 5pm. The ticket office closes 1 hour before and the gardens 30 minutes before. 

   

More info: Click here 

 

Pont d'Avignon (The Saint Bénézet bridge)

avignon-g85efe8c4d_1920.jpg

provence-g9eb015fec_1920.jpg

AVIGNON

AVIGNON
(44 minutes de Salon de Provence)

Classée au patrimoine mondial de l'UNESCO, la ville d'Avignon est connue pour avoir accueilli les papes entre 1309 et 1423, parallèlement aux papes romains. Elle change de visage dans le courant du XVIIIe siècle avec des aménagements plus modernes et la disparition de nombreuses ruelles étroites médiévales. Aujourd'hui, Avignon est surtout connue pour son patrimoine architectural, ainsi que pour son rayonnement culturel à travers le monde.
La commune fait partie des rares villes françaises à avoir conservé ses remparts et son centre historique qui attirent de nombreux touristes chaque année.

Palais des Papes 

avignon-gbbca5b769_1920.jpg
 

Situé en plein centre d’Avignon sur le rocher des Doms, le Palais des Papes est la plus grande construction de son temps. Il fut le théâtre de 6 conclaves entre 1335 et 1394.

Grâce à la technologie de la réalité virtuelle, vous pouvez traverser le palais et son histoire par des reconstitutions de grande qualité. Ainsi vous serez plongés dans l’ambiance d’autrefois, une immersion vers le Moyen-Âge.

La sortie se fera du côté du parc le Rocher des Doms. Il fait bon s’y promener, le parc ombragé et fleuri est très agréable, surtout l‘été quand il fait chaud, car il y a toujours un peu d’air frais. On y trouve des aménagements pour les enfants, de jolis bassins aux canards et une buvette.

Le monument offre aussi aux visiteurs une animation culturelle régulière tout au long de l’année. Le Festival d’Avignon, se déroule au mois de juillet dans la Cour d’Honneur du Palais. Endroit majestueux et imposant, le Palais des papes fait partie des 10 monuments les plus visités en France.

 

Horaires : Du 19/05 au 31/12/2021, tous les jours de 10h à 17h. Fermeture des caisses 1h avant et des jardins 30 mn avant.

Plus d'infos

 

Pont d’Avignon (le pont saint Bénezet)

avignon-g85efe8c4d_1920.jpg